February 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

Grist

Detroit signPhotos: Natasha Bowens

The Color of Food series is about my experiences searching for black and Latino farmers in the sustainable food movement.


From what I’d been hearing about Detroit all year, when my train rolled into the station I was expecting to walk out onto a scene fromI Am Legend.

However, I quickly discovered that the grapevine had given me nothing but over-exaggerated rumors.

Of course there are parts of the city that have seen their fair share of neglect, but this city, in my opinion, is anything but abandoned. I think what you see in Detroit depends on the way you look at it. I’m not talking about a “make lemonade out of lemons” kind of perspective, I’m talking about really lifting up the skin of Detroit and seeing the flow of radical action and creative energy keeping it alive.

Inner conflict

On my second day…

View original post 1,261 more words

Discuss

What’s this?

You are currently reading at MIDWEST SUSTAINABLE CITIES SYMPOSIUM.

meta

